My Beef with Beef

I stopped eating beef in November 2014. So far, I don’t miss it… that much. I got through the holidays and said, “No thank you,” to a number of steaks and roast beefs. So any other season should be a breeze without the number one source of protein. Hehe! Beef ArticleI decided to stop eating cows when I read this article that had an expert state, “The biggest intervention people could make towards reducing their carbon footprints would not be to abandon cars, but to eat significantly less red meat.” (For details on WHY, read the article.) Since I want to be kinder to the world humanity has been abusing from time immemorial, I figured it’s the least I can do as a member of the species. Going vegetarian (possibly even vegan) was always an option locked up in my mind. Assuming I wasn’t ready to give up meat yet, I made a conscious effort not to read books or watch videos that’ll make me feel terrible for eating meat. Ignorance is bliss, right? Also, I didn’t want to stop eating a specific type of meat versus another. I felt that would be discriminatory… But then the article about beef gave me a reason to target cows and the cattle industry before any other animal. It seemed the perfect way to start that road to a more sustainable and less cruel diet. This year, I’ve decided to limit my meat intake to one meal a day. It has been a month and a half and I’m getting along quite fine. I’m not certain what type of impact I’m making on the environment. But to get a better idea, check this link out! It shows the impact of going vegetarian one day every week. The numbers are pretty impressive – saving 2,400 gallons of water and 7 pounds of grain per pound of beef! The fact that I’m just one person may make the impact negligible. But, I figure, it’s just like voting. Choosing to purchase beef is giving my vote to the cattle industry and the impact it has on the environment. They can win votes by a landslide, but that shouldn’t stop me from passing my honest vote against them. If they keep on keeping on, it won’t be thanks to my hard-earned cash! :p That’s how it is, I suppose. Purchasing power really is “power” in the sense that you have more votes to give to more businesses and industries. Your purchase is a contribution to the success of a business. It took me a while to realize that and accept it. Even consumption comes with a responsibility to society and the world as a whole. Hassle noh? Ang daming kailangan isipin. Hahaha! But that’s the way the cookie crumbles. (Apologies if any bliss was shattered with the ignorance bubble. But you can always shrug it off as you dream of your next juicy burger. Haha.) I hope to learn more about my purchases. It should extend to more than just food (although food really is a huge chunk of the budget) and more than just sustainability. At the end of the day, I just want to be a responsible consumer and a conscientious humanoid. 🙂

Watchoothink?

