On stepping out, doing good, & getting dirty

I did it!

I submitted an entry to the Do Good Get Dirty Campaign. Now, I’ll just have to wait and see if I win a trip! There are 2 days left to join so if you want to get your hands dirty for a cause in Puerto Prinsesa, Dumaguete, or Mt. Matutum in Mindanao, visit www.dogoodgetdirty.com and submit an entry!

It’s more than just a travel opportunity.

It’s the first time I’m seeing a promo and giveaway where the prize includes immersion and volunteering. I’m interested to know how many people join in to travel for a cause.

Whenever our country goes through a disaster like Ondoy or Haiyan, we find loads of people donating relief goods, packing them, and sending them via volunteered trucks to relief areas. We can pat ourselves on the back for that.

After the Haiyan disaster, my high school batch mates and I decided we wanted to pool money, time, and effort together to pack goods and buy medicine to send over to Leyte and other affected areas.
After the Haiyan disaster, my high school batch mates and I decided we wanted to pool money, time, and effort together to pack goods and buy medicine to send over to Leyte and other affected areas.

But I wonder about the rest of the year.

If you think about it… suffering, poverty, and environmental degradation doesn’t end a week, months, even years after a calamity. Every day, there are people and places that need helping hands. Will suffering ever end?

What is it that will get us to step out of our bubble, speak out, and help out? This is a question I ask myself constantly.  (And if you have an answer, I’d be happy to read it on the comment box.)

It’s so easy to get trapped in a daily routine and our never-ending to-do list.

But the world needs us to look up and see if what we do is making a positive or a negative impact. It really is just one or the other.

After the 2013 earthquake that hit Bohol, I found myself there for a wedding. An awesome dude - Koi - was coordinating relief efforts and getting much needed help to different islands. Thinking about that experience still brings up indescribably emotions. The water receded and boats couldn't dock close to shore. From the boat, you'd see long lines of people in different islands passing on goods to each other until it reached shore. People helping people out. That's how it should be, right?
(That’s me in the yellow shorts!) After the 2013 earthquake that hit Bohol, I found myself there for a wedding. An awesome dude – Koi – was coordinating relief efforts and getting much needed help to different islands. Thinking about that experience still brings up indescribably emotions. The water receded and boats couldn’t dock close to shore. From the boat, you’d see long lines of people in different islands passing on goods to each other until it reached shore. People helping people out. That’s how it should be, right?

My goal is for the tasks on my to-do list to be things that will improve the world and people’s lives. I don’t want to live any other way.

I’d be interested to see how many others feel the same. How many would see volunteering as an opportunity – a prize and not a hassle? How many others would join a contest for the chance to do good and get dirty?

Watchoothink?

