#Pagsasaalaala

I’m beginning a #pagsasaalaala series to force myself to write about my travels from 2012 to 2013.Text: Pagsasaalaala

I should warn you. I don’t consider myself particularly well traveled. There are loads of others that have been to more places. Frankly, I never had the funds (whether mine or someone else’s) to hop from country to country. But thanks to a job, I found myself exploring cities I never thought I’d see with my own eyes – and with a unique perspective.

I was away for business and my weekdays were full of: getting to meetings, answering emails, making calls, doing my own laundry, grocery shopping, chores, and the like. I squeezed in touristy type things, of course. But for the most part, my travels were no vacays. They were expeditions.

Airplane WindowSince I never had the time and/or energy to blog while riding the travel bug, I will rely on pictures, random notes, videos, and my memory to recreate experiences in the UAE, the Netherlands, Japan, etc.

I know that memories aren’t very accurate. Studies have shown that just because we’re absolutely sure about a memory, doesn’t mean it actually happened. We’re also susceptible to other people’s suggestions to fill in memory gaps. And there is such a thing as false memories and false memory syndrome.

Then again, whether experienced or imagined, my memories fascinate me. And I’d like to share them with anyone willing to listen… or read. 🙂

(In case you were wondering, apart from being a tongue twister and a confusing hashtag, #pagsasaalaala is a Filipino word pertaining to calling memories to mind.)

Watchoothink?

